Abramis Brama, named after the latin name for the bream fish, hail from the south
side of Stockholm, Sweden and has since its formation in 1997 released seven albums
with heavy, ecstatic, riff-oriented hard rock - but with Swedish lyrics,
a very odd choice at the time...

This has made the band unique in their home country, and through years of touring
the band has built up a loyal fan-base with their devastatingly powerful live set.

The quartet consisting of bassist/vocalist Dennis Berg, guitarist Peo Anderson,
drummer Fredrik Jansson and original lead vocalist Christian Andersen first recorded
a demo of twelve songs in April 1998, followed by debut album
”Dansa Tokjävelns Vals” in 1999.

New singer Ulf Torkelsson, formerly of Sunflower, joined the band around the release
of the debut album, and has fronted the band ever since. The second album
”När Tystnaden Lagt Sig...” followed in early 2001, which featured many of the band's
classic songs, and a translation of the Pretty Things number ”Cold Stone” into
Swedish as ”Kall Som Sten”.

Covers of Captain Beyond and Swedish proto metal pioneers November (who were the
first hard rock band to sing in Swedish, in the late 60's) were released on tribute albums
and singles. After being pressured by their label at the time to try recording an English
language album, the band re-wrote the lyrics for songs from their previous two albums,
re-recorded them with producer Per Wikström and released them as
”Nothing Changes” in November 2003.

For the monumental ”Rubicon”, released in early 2005, the songs were yet again in
Swedish. The band added second guitarist Robert Johansson (from tour partners
Backdraft) but soon Fredrik Jansson left the band, later joining Witchcraft and
Count Raven as drummer and bassist respectively.

Fredrik ”Trisse” Liefvendahl of Grand Magus replaced Jansson and made his debut on
record with the band for their ”Live!” album, which had been recorded on tour in 2006
and was released in early 2007. The next year the band started working on what was to
become ”Smakar Söndag” at Edwinrune Studios in Stockholm, with Backdraft frontman
Jonas Åhlén producing. ”Smakar Söndag” was their highest charting album to date and
was nominated for the prestigious P3 Guld award in Sweden by the national
radio organisation.

Guitarist Robert Johansson left the band in 2011, and was not replaced. Instead the band
decided to carry on as a quartet, with Peo Andersson handling all guitars, like in their
early days. However, at the end of a European tour in the fall of 2012 bassist and founding
member Dennis Berg quit the band, with a show for the legendary German tv show
Rockpalast (where they performed solely in Swedish) being one
of his last with Abramis Brama.

The band had then already started to write and plan the recordings for a new studio
album, and new bass player Mats Rydström (Backdraft, Raging Slab, Pontus Snibb 3)
joined just in time for the first sessions for what was to become “Enkel Biljett”.
The recordings for this, the band's sixth studio album, were done at the band's brand
new Sounds n' Flavours studio - together with their long-time live sound engineer
Mats Torkelsson (Ulf's brother).

During 2013 Abramis Brama also found time for a few select club and festival shows.
One of them being the Muskelrock festival for the second time, another the 50th birthday
party for famous Swedish linguist and tv personality Fredrik Lindström. The band was
also filmed for a feature on Swedish music by the Brazilian tv show Música na Mochila -
a show that's broadcast all over Latin America to over one hundred million people.

The title track “Enkel Biljett” was released as a vinyl 7 inch split single with Norwegian
friends Black Debbath in January of 2014, and was quickly picked up by various radio
stations, with the album of the same name set for release via
Transubstans Records on May 2nd 2014.

Current line-up:
Mats Rydström - Bass Guitar, Vocals
P-O Andersson - Guitar
Ulf Torkelsson - Vocals
Fredrik Liefendahl - Drums

Origin: Sweden
Status: Active

© Transubstans Records 2015 - All Rights Reserved